Passenger Rights

In February 2005 a new European ‘Passenger Rights’ law was introduced. The aim of this law was to establish common rules on compensation and assistance to passengers which air carriers are obliged to comply with if certain situations arise. These situations are:

To view the obligations placed on air carriers in each of the situations listed, either click on the relevant link above or use the orange buttons located on the left side of this screen.

Each country within the European Union (EU) was required to designate an authority responsible for its enforcement within that jurisdiction. The Commission for Aviation Regulation (CAR) was formally designated as the Irish national enforcement body (NEB) on the 31st May 2005. You can view the complete list of NEBs for this law by clicking on this link.


So who does this law apply to?
This law applies to all passengers departing from airports within the EU and European Economic Area (EEA). It also applies to all passengers departing from ‘third countries’ i.e. countries that are not part of the EU or EEA provided those flights:
– arrive into airports located within the EU/ EEA; and
– are operated by air carriers which are licensed within the EU/ EEA (unless they have already received compensation or assistance in that third country).


Is there anyone to whom does the law does not apply?
Yes. The law does not apply to passengers travelling either free of charge or at a reduced fare which is not available to the general public. It also will not apply to passengers who:
– do not have a confirmed reservation:
– do not have the correct travel documentation for their journey e.g. visas etc:
– do not arrive at the boarding gate in good time for their flight:
– pose safety or security concerns for the air carrier.